Insights with Superpowers

Taste Bud Tuesday

Being a self-proclaimed connoisseur of all things food-related, I figured I would start up a weekly tradition called “Taste Bud Tuesday”.  This is nothing more than giving you one or two places that I have ate at recently that I think you might enjoy.  Disclaimer:  I am in no way responsible for dissatisfaction at any of these restaurants.  Without further ado:

1.  City House

City House is a gem in the middle of Germantown near Bicentennial Mall.  With a seasonally changing menu and beautiful atmosphere, this is ends up being a great place for a date night.  I have to admit, it errs on the side of pricey.  The most expensive thing on their menu is around $30.  I took Rebekah here for our “One Year Courtship Celebration” (I don’t like the word Anniversary when it comes to dating).  She loved it and so did I.  They have a very interesting beverage selection.  Bekah got Black Cherry Soda and I got Coca-Cola from Mexico (apparently it’s better when it’s imported).  There are very few places where you can say that you had the best of whatever it was, but this place comes pretty close.  I recommend the Tri-Tip.

http://cityhousenashville.com/

2.  Brown’s Diner

Brown’s is completely on the other side of the spectrum from City House.  By all aesthetic purposes, Brown’s is a dive.  It looks like a mobile home and it’s sitting on a lot right behind a Mapco Gas Station.  With that said, Brown’s is a jewel that I’m surprised not many people know about.  I’ve heard it said that in Nashville, when it comes to burgers, you are either Team Rotier’s or Team Brown’s.  Well I am most definitely Team Brown’s.  Here are my reasons why: 1. It’s cheap, I never spend more than $12 for me and Bekah when we go there.  2.  One of the best burgers I’ve had in Nashville.  I don’t know what it is, they’re just phenomenal.  3.  The waiting staff here is phenomenal.  They are some of the kindest people I’ve met in all of Nashville.  Makes you want to be a regular here.  I love this place and if you can get past the outside and try this “hole in the wall” I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

If you try either of these places, I would love to hear your thoughts on them.  You love ’em?  You hate ’em?  Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

